BTC now accepted for public transport in Argentina



Public Transportation Across Argentina Can Now Be Paid With BTC Crypto Heroes

Bitcoin (BTC) can now be used to pay for public transportation in Argentina. This latest development comes after BTC was added as a payment option to the national contactless smart card used in paying for public transportation in the country.

BTC public transport payment available in 37 cities

The national contactless smart card in Argentina is used to pay for public transport. The cards can be used to pay for public rides on buses, trains, subways, and motorboats. The BTC payment option is currently available in 37 cities across the country, including the capital city of Buenos Aires, according to a local media outlet, Cripto247.

The contactless smart card Sube (Sistema Único de Boleto Electrónico) can be loaded with BTC and used to pay for public transport in 37 cities, beginning on Thursday, February 7. BTC top up of the Sube smart card is possible due to the integration of online card funding platform Alto Viaje and fintech startup Bitex. Alto Viaje is one of the vendors that cardholders can use to fund their Sube accounts.

Alto Viaje previously allowed users to fund their Sube cards using PayPal only. According to the report, the incorporation of BTC was possible because Alto Viaje decided to use Bitex’s infrastructure and liquidity, which it deemed important for a project of this magnitude.

Cripto247 quoted Manuel Beaudroit, Bitex’s CMO, as saying, “[We] believe that this type of project is of great importance, since it brings technology as disruptive as Bitcoin to the common people, demonstrating the true value and the applications it has in everyday life.” He further added that the minimum funding amount in BTC at the moment is 50 Argentine Pesos (1.32 USD).

Luciano Verardo, Director of Alto Viaje, noted that his company aims to offer safe and innovative services in the payment sector. He is excited about their partnership with Bitex and believes the integration of Bitcoin into their system will open up new possibilities for people and companies.

The Sube card can be used in the following cities: Buenos Aires, Bahía Blanca, Catamarca, Cipolletti, Comodoro Rivadavia, Corrientes, Formosa, General Pico, General Pueyrredón, Gualeguaychú, Jujuy, Necochea, Neuquén, Olavarría, Palpalá, Paraná, Partido de la Costa, Pergamino, Pinamar, Rafaela, Rawson, Resistencia, Río Gallegos, Río Grande, Roque Sáenz Peña, San Carlos de Bariloche, San Juan, San Luis, San Martín de los Andes, San Nicolás de los Arroyos, Santa Fe de la Vera Cruz, Santa Rosa, Trelew, Ushuaia, Venado Tuerto, Viedma and Villa Allende.

More on new coin payment options:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *